Whose permission do you need to ship your work?

Justin Zack
2 min readNov 24, 2020
Photo by Shaah Shahidh on Unsplash

I am project manager by trade and plan for a living, but when it comes to writing, I am more of a panster than a planner.

An unfortunate side effect of being a panster is that the editing process requires more effort. I spend as much time trying to make my thoughts coherent as I do actually writing, which results in much deliberation and unfinished pieces.

I write a sentence and then thoughtfully consider how it fits in to what I’m trying to say. It’s not uncommon for the message of my piece to completely change by the time I’m finished writing.

My wife recently sat down with me as I was finishing up an article. She caught me staring at the screen mid-internal debate about what direction I wanted to take. As she finished reading over my shoulder, while I continued my stare down with the computer, she said, just hit publish or you will stare at it forever.

Her permission was all I needed. It got me past the proverbially, what will “they” think and the endless debate of perfection and refinement. There was power in hearing someone else say ship it! It was the encouragement that I needed in the moment to get past my insecurities.

I can’t always have someone looming over my shoulder waiting until the exact moment that I begin to debate with myself, but I can remember that good enough and always wins over endless refinement.

Whose permission do you need to share your work?

--

--

Justin Zack

Project leader. Product thinker. Write about human things. Find me at justinzack.com